Sometimes a player protesting his innocence to a referee is understandable - justified, even - when a red card is shown.
The incident above is not one of those times. Rogerio Paraiba pleaded and remonstrated not to be shown a red card after a tackle on Diego Rosa in the game between Itabaiana and Ponte Preta in Brazil, but the referee would not budge.
And on replay after sickening replay, it becomes clear why.
Studs up and at full speed, Paraiba catches Rosa in a sensitive area above the thigh but below the belly-button.
And given the velocity at which he flew in, once Paraiba makes contact, he just ploughs further forward.
Incredibly, Rosa was able to carry on, lasting until the 60th minute. Paraiba's Itabaiana who were already 2-0 down in the Copa do Brasil match, went on to ship another goal in a 3-0 defeat.