Bunker Mentality

Colsaerts hits ball into toilet, forced to take ‘relief’

Bunker Mentality

If 2013 doesn't go down as the year Mother Nature won the FedEx Cup, it might just be the year of the weird drops.

That continued at the Volvo World Match Play Championship in Bulgaria, when Denmark's Nicolas Colsaerts found himself in a situation that you probably won't ever see again no matter how much golf you watch over the next few decades.

Colsaerts was playing Graeme McDowell when his tee shot on par-4 10th hole flew well out of play and into a public toilet close to the green.

He was then told that he had to take a one-stroke penalty drop within the cubicle. The ball was dropped inside the toilet, and only then was Colsaerts finally allowed to take "relief" from that spot, moving outside the toilet before hitting his approach shot on the green and rolling in the putt for par.

It was enjoyable watching Colsaerts and the rules official having a chuckle about the whole situation, and even cooler that he still made par despite the penalty stroke, but his hopes of winning the match were, ahem, flushed by McDowell who won 2 & 1.

"I'm sure now the whole episode at 10 is going to make all the TV news programs, Facebook and all the social media sites with the caption: 'Here's some Belgian guy playing golf in some toilet block in Bulgaria'," he laughed afterwards.

"It's the first time I've ever hit a ball into a toilet and you would have thought as a kid I would have been crazy enough to practise that shot (smiling) but I never did."

Shane Bacon | Devil Ball Golf | Eurosport

View photo

.

Nicolas Colsaerts peers into the abyss

View Comments (89)