• Arsenal Message Board

  • Gunner Gunner Aug 15, 2011 11:46 Flag

    Violent conduct

    From the laws:
    "Violent conduct:
    A player is guilty of violent conduct if he uses excessive force or brutality
    against an opponent when not challenging for the ball."

    Dragging a player up from the ground by his shirt must count as excessive force. Barton should have gone, and as the ball was still in play at that point Arsenal should have been awarded a penalty. Poor from the man and his assistants.

    SortNewest  |  Oldest  |  Most Replied Expand all replies
    • I won't take the analogy any further as it doesn't prove anything. My point was that it's expected for us to protect our own position, just as you would protect your own company.

      The reason so much noise was made about Barton's antics is that everyone knew that he'd gotten away with it... again. Everyone knew that Song would get banned - so what's to discuss?

      People strongly dislike injustice. Especially when the perpetrator knows exactly what he's doing (e.g. C. Ronaldo winking at the World Cup).

    • Ian if you're asking whether tc is another ID if mine, the answer is no, I only have this one. And I'm not a conspiracy theorist..

    • Is "TC" another ID ? How many times in a season do players get pulled to their feet ? You see it every game.

    • Get a life of your own "TC", stop trying to pinch his.

      It wasn't a penalty, if it was, whining Wenger would be screaming his nuts off.



      "BUT only if the player does not play for a team who are involved in a match being played against Arsenal FC"

      YAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN!!

    • So Holding a Player in the 18 yard box is punishable by a Penalty under Law 12, but Holding a player to drag him up off the gound in the penalty Area is not breaking law 12? How did he drag Gervinho off the ground if he wasn't holding him? Breach of Law 12, result penalty! Its in the Laws of the game! Maybe the FA should modify the Laws and make it say Law 12: Holding a Player in the 18 Yard box is punishable by award of a penalty, BUT only if the player does not play for a team who are involved in a match being played against Arsenal FC. The Law does not come into effect if the player being held is playing for Arsenal FC.

    • That refers to holding someone back.

      You really are getting desperate now, you've tried fouls, pulling down, dangerous play, and now holding.

      This has turned into a farce that no-one here with any sense wants to get involved with.

      But don't stop, you really are hilarious.

    • "or using excessive force:...."
      "• holds an opponent = NO"

      Hahaha brilliant!! Only you could come up with this classic. I can only guess you haven't even watched the incident if you conclude that Barton wasn't holding Gervinho with excessive force.

      Judging by your lack of capacity for understanding either reason or logic, I've also come to the conclusion you must be a woman ;)

      I really will stop here though, it was fun but you've dug yourself so deep I can barely hear you.

      "Case proven, so move on, you lost, get over it."
      Hahaha brilliant, thanks you made my day with that one!

    • "You are wrong, Barton did it behind the Refs back, but it was seen by the Assisant Refs, and they alerted the Ref to the situation. So He did pull gervinho's shirt in the Penalty area,"


      No, you're wrong, the assistant ref was going the other way, the ref wasn't alerted until the scuffle outside the box.

    • "A direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a player commits any of the following offences in a manner considered by the referee to be careless, reckless or using excessive force:
      • kicks or attempts to kick an opponent = NO
      • trips or attempts to trip an opponent = NO
      • jumps at an opponent = NO
      • charges an opponent = NO
      • strikes or attempts to strike an opponent = NO
      • pushes an opponent = NO
      • tackles an opponent = NO

      • holds an opponent = NO
      • spits at an opponent = NO
      • handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area)" = NO




      "An indirect free kick is also awarded to the opposing team if, in the opinion of the referee, a player:
      • plays in a dangerous manner = NO
      • impedes the progress of an opponent = NO
      • prevents the goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands = NO
      • COMMITS ANY OTHER OFFENCE, NOT PREVIOUSLY MENTIONED IN LAW 12, for which play is stopped to caution or send off a player" = YES.



      Case proven, so move on, you lost, get over it.

      .

    • You are wrong, Barton did it behind the Refs back, but it was seen by the Assisant Refs, and they alerted the Ref to the situation. So He did pull gervinho's shirt in the Penalty area, he did Hold onto Gervinho in the penalty area, and as he was not involved int eh foul which gervinho went to ground for, was guilty of Ungentlemanly Conduct for getting involved for a start, so a penalty should have been awarded, which would most likely have been scored and Arsenal would have won. But the Ref knew this so failed to award the Penalty, as with 10 men he thought that Arsenal would have no cahnce of winning, and most preobably would have lost, so here is yet another Ref earning his Bung from the FA to manufacture a result against Arsenal.

    • View More Messages