Boxing - John v Hosono ends in draw after accidental headbutt

Chris John stayed unbeaten as his WBA superfeatherweight title bout with Satoshi Hosono ended in a three-round technical draw.

Eurosport
Boxing - John v Hosono ends in draw after accidental headbutt
.

View photo

INDONESIA, JAKARTA : Referee (C) holds both hands of Japanese challenger Satoshi Hosono (L) and Indonesian WBA (World Boxing Association) featherweight champion Chris John (R) during the WBA featherweight title in Jakarta on April 14, 2013 (AFP)

Towards the end of round three, Indonesia’s John suffered a nasty cut above his right eye following a clash of heads with Hosono, leading doctors and officials to abandon the fight at the Indoor Tennis Stadium in Jakarta.

Champion John retains his WBA belt, staying unbeaten with a career record of 48-0-3 (22 knockouts), while Japan’s Hosono is on 23-2-1 (17 knockouts).

The draw was celebrated as a victory by his corner, while Hosono was clearly disappointed.

John, 33, won the WBA featherweight title for the first time in 2003, when he beat Oscar Leon in a controversial split decision.

His two previous draws came against Jose Rojas and Rocky Juarez, who he went on to beat in later bouts. His second bout against Juarez was his first at superfeatherweight.

View comments (1)