Cricket - Brisbane Heat claim Big Bash crown

Brisbane Heat claimed the Big Bash title for 2013 with a 34-run victory over Perth Scorchers in the final at the Waca.

Cricket - Brisbane Heat claim Big Bash crown

View photo

Peter Forrest of the Heat hits out during the Big Bash League final match between the Perth Scorchers and the Brisbane Heat at WACA on January 19, 2013 in Perth, Australia.

Shrugging off their opponents' home advantage, Brisbane set their hosts a target of 168 thanks in large part to a superb 43 from 26 balls by Joe Burns and 37 from 21 by Dan Christian.

Perth were never on top of the run chase, with Brisbane's West Indian paceman Kemar Roach keeping them penned in as he took three for 18.

The Scorchers had qualified for the final in style with Mike Hussey having slogged the winning runs from the last ball of the match against Melbourne Stars in the semi-finals, but the Western Australian side fell to defeat in the final for the second consecutive year.

Brisbane, meanwhile, had thrashed Melbourne Renegades in their semi despite only squeezing into the last four on run rate.

View Comments (0)