Finn thought he had claimed a crucial fifth wicket for England when Suresh Raina edged to slip on 41, but umpire Steve Davis called the ball dead after the England seamer dislodged the bails with his knee. The moment proved decisive as Raina went on to make 89 not out and lead India to series-clinching five-wicket win.
"The easiest thing to do is to ask him not to touch the stumps because that will remove all the controversies," said Dhoni. "There is plenty of space to bowl from so there is no need to interfere with the stumps. If you do, your side may lose because of that one particular delivery, like what happened in this game."
Dhoni's opposite number Alastair Cook would also welcome an end to the saga.
Speaking after the match, which England needed to win, he admitted to a sense of uncertainty over how Finn's transgressions would be dealt with.
The umpires notified England after Finn crashed into the stumps in the first ODI that any repeats in the series would immediately lead to a dead ball, but Cook revealed the message did not quite get through.
"There was a little bit of confusion. You've got to clarify these things," said Cook.
"Apparently we had been told that because he knocked them over twice in one of the previous games he was a 'serial offender' and that he was going to get called straight away.
"In the heat of the moment I think a few of us might have forgotten that. Whether we'd been told that, I wasn't entirely sure.
"At the time I didn't know, but apparently the umps were pretty clear that they had told us that so I must have been deaf when I was listening to them. I couldn't remember the conversation but they're convinced they had it and I'm going to have to take their word for it."
- Sports & Recreation
- Alastair Cook
- Suresh Raina