Cycling - Froome looking to follow Wiggins's path in Romandie

Chris Froome will look to emulate Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans in this week’s UCI World Tour race, the Tour of Romandie.

Cycling - Froome looking to follow Wiggins's path in Romandie

View photo

Chris Froome

Wiggins and Evans have taken victory in the six-day Swiss event in the past two years and gone on to win the Tour de France that year.

With Wiggins preparing for the Giro d’Italia, Froome will lead Team Sky at the event which begins with a 7.45km time trial on Tuesday and ends with an 18.6km stage against the clock on Sunday.

There are no summit finishes but the four road stages feature 13 categorised climbs with Saturday’s queen stage featuring four category-one climbs, including two ascents of the Col de la Croix.

Andrew Talansky and Rui Costa, second and third last year are present as well, while other established Grand Tour riders in the field include Alejandro Valverde, Ryder Hesjedal, Roman Kreuziger and Jurgen Van den Broeck.

Mark Cavendish will look for sprint victories but his chances will be limited by the parcours and Omega Pharma Quick Step also have world time trial champion Tony Martin in their line-up.

Sport Director Brian Holm said. "There is a prologue and a final TT for Tony Martin, and then some mixed stages for the other guys — for example, a stage hunter like Gianni Meersman. It's also a good preparation for the Giro d'Italia.

"If there is a sprint, we have Cavendish who is tuning up his condition for the Giro. We have a balanced team, so I think we can be a protagonist throughout the race. That is our objective, but we will see each day."

Most wins - Riders

3 Stephen Roche IRL 1983, 1984, 1987

2 Ferdi Kübler SUI 1948, 1951

2 Jean Forestier FRA 1954, 1957

2 Louis Rostollan FRA 1960, 1961

2 Vittorio Adorni ITA 1965, 1967

2 Gianni Motta ITA 1966, 1971

2 Pascal Richard SUI 1993, 1994

2 Toni Rominger SUI 1991, 1995

2 Dario Frigo ITA 2001, 2002

2 Tyler Hamilton USA 2003, 2004

2 Cadel Evans AUS 2006, 2011

Most wins - Countries

13 Italy

12 Switzerland

10 France

6 Belgium

5 Netherlands

3 Ireland

3 United States

3 Australia

2 Sweden

2 Spain

1 Norway

1 Russia

1 Colombia

1 Germany

1 Czech Republic

1 Slovenia

1 Great Britain

Last 10 podiums

2012 Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Andrew Talansky (USA) Rui Costa (POR)

2011 Cadel Evans (AUS) Tony Martin (GER) Alexandr Vinokurov (KAZ)

2010 Simon Špilak (SLO) Denis Menchov (RUS) Michael Rogers (AUS)

2009 Roman Kreuziger (CZE) Vladimir Karpets (RUS) Rein Taaramäe (EST)

2008 Andreas Klöden (GER) Roman Kreuziger (CZE) Marco Pinotti (ITA)

2007 Thomas Dekker (NED) Paolo Savoldelli (ITA) Andrey Kashechkin (KAZ)

2006 Cadel Evans (AUS) Alberto Contador (ESP) Alejandro Valverde (ESP)

2005 Santiago Botero (COL) Damiano Cunego (ITA) Denis Menchov (RUS)

2004 Tyler Hamilton (USA) Fabian Jeker (SUI) Leonardo Piepoli (ITA)

2003 Tyler Hamilton (USA) Laurent Dufaux (SUI) Fabian Jeker (SUI)

View Comments