England, Wales reach Sevens quarters

England, Wales, New Zealand and Fiji were unbeaten on the first day of the Glasgow Sevens as they booked quarter-final spots on Sunday.

England, Wales reach Sevens quarters

View photo

England, Wales reach Sevens quarters

England beat Kenya, the USA and Australia to earn a last-eight encounter against defending champions South Africa, who lost to Wales for the first time in 28 matches.

Wales will play Australia after beating Scotland and Russia before that momentous 17-5 triumph over the South Africans.

Quarter-final line-up

England v South Africa

Fiji v Samoa

Wales v Australia

New Zealand v Argentina

IRB standings

1 New Zealand 128

2 Fiji 122

3 South Africa 105

4 England 104

5 Samoa 101


Pool A

Australia 29-14 United States

England 40-7 Kenya

Australia 28-26 Kenya

England 19-12 USA

USA 29-14 Kenya

Australia 14-19 England

Pool B

Samoa 22-14 France

New Zealand 31-5 Spain

Samoa 24-17 Spain

New Zealand 66-0 France

France 7-19 Spain

Samoa 21-22 New Zealand

Pool C

Argentina 17-5 Portugal

Fiji 40-0 Zimbabwe

Argentina 19 - 14 Zimbabwe

Fiji 28 - 5 Portugal

Portugal 24-14 Zimbabwe

Argentina 7-47 Fiji

Pool D

Wales 17-14 Scotland

South Africa 17-14 Russia

South Africa 19-14 Scotland

Wales 31-5 Russia

Scotland 33-5 Russia

Wales 17-5 South Africa

View Comments