Surfing - Florence breezes through at Pipeline

John John Florence put in a sensational display of surfing to breeze into the last 32 of the Volcom Pipe Pro at Banzai Pipeline in Hawaii.

Surfing - Florence breezes through at Pipeline

View photo

John John Florence

The Hawaiian scored an amazing 19.70 in his round of 64 heat to eclipse the efforts of his rivals on day six of the competition on the island's North Shore.

After four straight lay days, action had finally gotten underway on day five but Florence - one of the top seeds - was made to further wait to take his bow as he entered at the last-64 stage.

When he did eventually take to the water, in eight-to-12-foot waves, the crowd at the ASP World Tour's first event of the 2013 season were not disappointed.

He takes his place in the next round alongside fellow seeds Kolohe Andino, Tanner Gudauskas, Nat Young and Josh Kerr.


Round of 64

Surfers listed in order of 1st through 4th – 1st & 2nd advance

H1: Jamie O’Brien (HI); Kolohe Andino (USA); Makai McNamara (HI); Kai Barger (HI)

H2: Eala Stewart (HI); Joel Centeio (HI); Mitchel Coleborn (AUS); Keanu Asing (HI)

H3: Bruce Irons (HI); Tanner Gudauskas (USA); Torrey Meister (HI); Yujiro Tsuji (JPN)

H4: Nat Young (USA); Kahea Hart (HI); Tim Reyes (USA); Shane Beschen (USA)

H5: Reef McIntosh (HI); Chris Ward (USA); Anthony Walsh (AUS); Nathan Yeomans (USA)

H6: Masatoshi Ohno (JPN); Perth Standlick (AUS); Miguel Tudela (PER); Aritz Aranburu (EUK)

H7: Cory Arrambide (USA); Ricardo Dos Santos (BRA); Nic Von Rupp (DEU); Koa Rothman (HI)

H8: John John Florence (HI); Pancho Sullivan (HI); Sidney Guimaraes (BRA); Parker Coffin (USA)

H9: Josh Kerr (AUS); Alex Gray (USA); Jeremy Johnston (USA); Nathan Florence (HI)

H10: Olamana Eleogram (HI); Krystian Kymerson (BRA); Charles Martin (GLP); Steven Pierson (PYF)

H11: Dale Staples (ZAF); Patrick Gudauskas (USA); Nathan Hedge (AUS); Charlie Carroll (HI)

H12: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA); Cory Lopez (USA); Cristobal De Col (PER); Leandro Usuna (ARG)

Round of 96:

Surfers listed in order of 1st through 4th – 1st & 2nd advance

Heat 9: Nathan Florence (HI); Krystian Kymerson (Brz); Danny Fuller (HI); Simao Romao (Brz)

Heat 10: Steven Pierson (PYF); Jeremy Johnston (USA); Matt Pagan (USA); Gony Zubizarreta (ESP)

H11: Dale Staples (ZAF); Leandro Usuna (ARG); Makuakai Rothman (HI); Jeronimo Vargas (BRA)

H12: Cristobal De Col (PER); Charlie Carroll (HI); Kalani Chapman (HI); Dane Gudauskas (USA)

H13: Marcus Hickman (HI); Connor Coffin (USA); JD Irons (HI); Tanner Hendrickson (HI)

H14: Ian Gentil (HI); Stephen Koehne (HI); Dylan Goodale (HI); Dillon Perillo (USA)

H15: Leandro Bastos (BRA); Joshua Moniz (HI); Ian Walsh (HI); Dege O’Connell (HI)

H16: Balaram Stack (USA); Sean Moody (HI); Evan Valiere (HI); Hank Gaskell (HI)

View Comments (0)